#Chalica Day 3 – Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations

It’s day 3 of Chalica, so time for me to think about our third principle.  “Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations.”

Obviously, this is two different clauses, so lets take a look at them in parts.

“Acceptance of one another” – Well, this one seems pretty self explanatory.  You need to accept people.  But going further, you need to accept people for who they are and where they are, not who and where you want them to be.  Sure, sometimes UUs have some issues truly accepting each other and other folk, Conservative Christians, Sarah Palin, etc.  But at the same time, acceptance doesn’t go far enough.  Acceptance to me implies something similar that the word tolerance implies, “well, we may not like it, but we have to accept it.”  Accepting it vs. embracing it are two vastly different concepts.

“Encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations” – Well, this has the potential to be more interesting.  Is the encouragement just in our congregations, is the spiritual growth just in our congregations?  Well, I be don’t believe it needs to be either, we can encourage people to spiritual growth outside a congregational setting.  Yes, I know UU and Congregational Polity and all and the UUA is an association of congregations.  But I also think UUs…get too hung up on that at times.  I wish there were a more unified UU ideology at times rather than just an association of congregations.   But I digress.

I think I’m doing a fairly ok job of the acceptance side in my every day life.  But I think I need to encourage myself to more spiritual growth.  I should attempt to do something on this end today.

 

4 responses to “#Chalica Day 3 – Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations

  1. Interesting how perspectives change—w moved from “tolerance” to “acceptance” for pretty much the same reason you want to move from “acceptance” to “embracing”—tolerance meant putting up with even though one doesn’t like, perhaps not even understanding; acceptance was considered more actively respectful of the fact that different can be equal, not one better and one worse.
    Regarding a unified ideology, you may have to wait until my generation (late baby boomer) has moved on—I don’t want to dictate to anyone, and I certainly don’t want ayone to dictate to me. I think (even hope) that we are all think too critically and have too many perspectives for true unification between any one ideology.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention #Chalica Day 3 – Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations | Spirituality and Sunflowers -- Topsy.com

  3. “Sure, sometimes UUs have some issues truly accepting each other and other folk, Conservative Christians, Sarah Palin, etc.”

    Matt you’re being naughty.. . .

    You *excluded* both Robin Edgar AND The Emerson Avenger, dreaded scourge of the U*U World, from that short list of people U*Us have some issues with truly accepting. :-)

  4. Sorry Robin – you aren’t on my scourge list :D. The only time you annoy me is when you post a comment not related to the initial post, like anyone who does annoys me, and heck, you haven’t done that in years.

Leave a Reply

